Lots of Edgar Allan Poe Goodness!

Thumb_Ep_20Good morning, friends! I just wanted to drop a quick note to say hello and let you know that I am up to my eyeballs in awesomeness that I am dying to share with you. As soon as I can, you can rest assured that I won’t hold back!

If you have not already done so, please drop by Line Webtoon and check out the brand-new page of Terra Somnium by myself and artist, Louise Fitzgerald. We are nearing the end of the first chapter, and things have gotten extremely tense!

CLICK HERE TO VIEW

teaser_01In case you missed the big news, we will be launching a campaign for a Kickstarter-exclusive special PRINTED edition of The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe #1 on July 31st! We are absolutely thrilled! We get asked quite often about print copies of our books, so this will give us the opportunity to get our first printed book into our lovely, intelligent (shall I keep going?), attractive viewers’ hands (good enough?). So please, mark your calendars and plan to pledge. We will need to hit it fast and hard at the jump in order to reach our goal. We’ll also be sharing never-before-seen Poe-related art, videos, and other goodies with those who pledge along the way, so it’s going to be exciting!

As always, I would be remiss if I didn’t remind you how much we appreciate the support and encouragement we receive from you every day. Sometimes it feels like a battle that would be easier to avoid or abandon, but YOU are always there with a word of encouragement, a share, a like, or an e-mail that steels our courage and presses us to redouble our efforts. We truly appreciate it. And to our patrons: you all are the best. We literally could not do this without you. If you have not yet become a patron, you can do that RIGHT HERE. $1 a month or $100, it all helps, and it all goes toward making comics. Patreon is being jerky right now, but as soon as it lets me, I’ll be sharing a top secret peek at the cover for I-Team #1 with our patrons, so now is a wonderful time to join us!

-Dwight

Hocus Pocus Comics is in the House!

NYCCpic.jpg

Rebecca and I had a super busy week and the weekend was no walk in the park, either. But, hey, self-publishing is totally worth it. We have invested our blood, sweat, tears, time, money, and hearts into HP Comics, and I hope our love and dedication shines brightly in every story we tell.

Thank you for your continued support, friends. We couldn’t do this without our amazing patrons and readers!

-Dwight

Book Review: Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero

meddling_kidsI was pleasantly surprised when I was contacted by Michael Goldsmith of DoubleDay Books requesting a book review of a new Lovecraftian fiction book by author, Edgar Cantero. Oh, I’ve written a few comic book reviews in the past and a book review for International Justice Mission, but that was the extent of my reviewing creds, and, as I said, it was several years ago.  In the end I decided that, hey, why not? I love to read, and I count Lovecraft as one of my biggest writing influences. So much so that I co-wrote the young Howard Lovecraft Trilogy with my good buddy, Bruce Brown, and I have an original Lovecraftian mini-series in the works with brilliant artist, Dave Youkovich.  Not to mention a few Lovecraftian short stories, an adaptation of Lovecraft’s HE for SelfMadeHero, and several unsuccessful pitches I’ve written over the years.

So it was decided.

In the years since Howard Phillips Lovecraft’s life, Lovecraftian fiction has become a popular horror subgenre which stresses cosmic, unknowable terrors and mankind’s hopelessness and helplessness to combat–or even fully comprehend–them. At the core, it is the fear of the unknown that drives the stories in this subgenre, and that is something we can all relate to, whether we are fans of science-fiction, or horror, or neither. It is from this commonality that brilliant screenwriter, Rod Serling (also a big influence on my work), penned some of his most poignant and terrifying episodes of The Twilight Zone. And Serling is only one in a long line of authors who have played upon this instantly relatable theme.

But I digress.

Imagine, if you will, the Scooby-Doo Gang in a Lovecraftian universe. As young people, the gang solved mysteries and unmasked bad guys–they were the heroes–but, during the course of their final caper they inadvertently brushed paths with unspeakable cosmic horror. It is an oppressive evil that haunts their dreams, poisons their lives, and they ultimately became scared, irreparably (?) damaged adults. Ultimately, these fractured adults decide to team up one last time and face the horror head on. This is Meddling Kids.

Does this sound similar to the synopsis of Stephen King‘s It to you? Indeed. Cantero isn’t breaking any new ground here, but what he does is tell an entertaining story that will have you furiously turning pages until you reach the bitter end. And he does so with great panache and skill. Cantero is obviously a master wordsmith who tips his hand every now and then, but never comes off as an exhibitionist. Snappy dialogue, vivid descriptions, quirky characters, and the building sense of dread will keep you enthralled and leave you wanting more. And for fans of Lovecraft’s work, you will find just enough that is familiar, but not so much that it feels overstated or cliché. As I said, this Cantero fellow knows what he is doing.

If this sounds like a fun story to you, you may be a Lovecraft fan. Or, maybe not. I believe that any reader who is merely looking for an entertaining, creepy summer read will find it quite enjoyable as well. Who knows…it may even compel some readers to check out H.P. Lovecraft’s work, and that would be awesome, indeed.

-Dwight

 

HP Comics is Kicking Booty!

review_kindle

What a morning! Woke up to an email from one of my favorite writers, Kurt Busiek, saying The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe #1 is “quirky and magical, a pell-mell adventure into nightmare, and I’m not afraid to say so!” I’ve been a fan of Kurt’s work since the ’80s, and Rebecca’s become a fan of his work though the most excellent Astro City, so this really made our day!

And then…

We found out a graphic novel illustrated by our artist for The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe, Luis Czerniawski, won a Bram Stoker Award! (Congratulations, James Chambers!)

And then…

We found out we’d received a glowing review of The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe #1 on Amazon!

If you haven’t purchased your copy of The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe #1 yet, you can download it on KINDLE or COMIXOLOGY!

So I think it’s fair to say our weekend is going pretty well. Hope yours is, too!

-Dwight

 

The Time to Pledge is Now!

pledge

Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits is the brainchild of Harvey-nominated writer, Dwight L, MacPherson. An all-ages adventure mystery with a breakneck pace and many twists and turns, Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits is ultimately the story of friendship, danger, magic, and sacrifice in the tradition of Gravity Falls, Stranger Things, and Harry Potter.
The Kickstarter Campaign is now LIVE and runs through March 2nd:

Hocus Pocus Comics Is On Patreon!

hpc-banner

We’ve just launched our Patreon page! Let the adventure begin! Patreon is the perfect platform to launch the beginning of our journey as it lets you, the reader, become directly involved in the tangible success of our projects. And you can do it in real-time!

Join the movement!

-Dwight

Halloween Countdown Interview with Dr. Amy H. Sturgis

dwight-macpherson_051

I am thrilled to say that our dear friend and literary mentor, Dr. Amy H. Sturgis, invited me to be a part of her annual Halloween Countdown on her Eldritch-hobbit blog, Redecorating Middle-Earth in early Lovecraft!

Rebecca brought Amy into my life through her legendary Lord of the Rings PR adventures, and Amy and I became instant friends. Her sincere friendship and support continues to be such a blessing to me and Rebecca as well. I am so honored to be a part of this year’s Halloween Fest that Amy painstakingly puts together every October!

Take a look around her blog– I am certain you will enjoy the spooky goodness!

Oh, and just a little tidbit of information: I will be launching a Kickstarter project in the not-so-distant future, so please be on the lookout! It is going to be epic! In the immortal words of John Wick, “Yeah, I’m thinking I’m back!”

-Dwight

nat-jones-frankenstein

I absolutely love this Frankenstein image by my buddy Nat Jones! In fact, I’m certain Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley herself would approve. I think Nat masterfully captured the essence of Victor Frankenstein’s creature!

And, to go along with this wonderful work of art, here’s a  quote from one of my all-time favorite novels…

“I busied myself to think of a story— a story to rival those which had excited us to this task. One which would speak to the mysterious fears of our nature, and awaken thrilling horror—one to make the reader dread to look round, to curdle the blood, and quicken the beatings of the heart. If I did not accomplish these things, my ghost story would be unworthy of its name.” – Mary Shelley, Introduction to Frankenstein, 1831

I am totally immersed in an amazing project right now. I can’t wait to share it with you!

– Dwight

The Game is Afoot!

plottingweekend

It’s another working weekend here at MacPherson Manor. The scope of this project is so huge that we’ve bought several pieces of poster board for story plotting. We’re extremely excited and can’t wait to share more about it. But, for now, all we can say is that it’s going to be epic!

Can’t. Wait.

-Dwight