Rockin’ and Rolling Into 2018

Happy New Year, friends! We have definitely started off the new year with a bang!

My interview is now live and available for your perusal on Culture Vultures. I believe it is exceptional and packed with behind-the-scenes tidbits and I thank interviewer Cassie Parkes (and our friend, James Caudill) for making it happen. You can read the interview in its entirety by clicking the image below…

culture_vultures

We have also been selected as one of 2G1‘s “Favorites of 2017!” Special thanks to our friend, Ryan McLelland for his kind words and support over the years. We are thrilled and thankful for the shout-out! You can read Ryan’s extensive article about Hocus Pocus Comics by clicking the image below…

2G1

Finally, voting for the 2017 BareBones Awards ends on Friday, January 5th! If you were not aware, The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe has been nominated in the comic book of the year category, and we’d really like to win it! Thank you to everyone who has already voted, and if you haven’t voted yet, it only takes a couple of seconds and you can vote anonymously, so why not do that now? If you click the image below it will take you directly to the voting page.

bb_awards

Finally, Rebecca and I would like to thank each and every one of you for an amazing first year. We honestly didn’t know how a new publishing company would be received. Sure, I’m not Ricky Random, but one can never know about these things unless one first takes that big step. With such an explosion in the comics market, it was a risk. A big one. But, thanks to you, we are so glad we stepped out and took a chance. Here’s to you, and here’s to a glorious second great year for Hocus Pocus Comics that exceeds all expectations!

Warm regards,

Dwight & Rebecca

Advertisements

Hocus Pocus Comics is Attending New York Comic Con 2017!

nycc-2017-logo-dark-bg

 

Pro badges have been approved, and I am thrilled to announce that Rebecca and I will be attending New York Comic Con this year! We hope to see you there!

FIND OUR MORE ABOUT NEW YORK COMIC CON HERE

– Dwight and Rebecca

Hocus Pocus Comics is in the House!

NYCCpic.jpg

Rebecca and I had a super busy week and the weekend was no walk in the park, either. But, hey, self-publishing is totally worth it. We have invested our blood, sweat, tears, time, money, and hearts into HP Comics, and I hope our love and dedication shines brightly in every story we tell.

Thank you for your continued support, friends. We couldn’t do this without our amazing patrons and readers!

-Dwight

The Time to Pledge is Now!

pledge

Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits is the brainchild of Harvey-nominated writer, Dwight L, MacPherson. An all-ages adventure mystery with a breakneck pace and many twists and turns, Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits is ultimately the story of friendship, danger, magic, and sacrifice in the tradition of Gravity Falls, Stranger Things, and Harry Potter.
The Kickstarter Campaign is now LIVE and runs through March 2nd:

3 MORE DAYS!

3-days

Only 3 more days until we launch The Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits on Kickstarter! If you have not created an donor account on Kickstarter yet, please do! And thanks again, in advance, for your support! We can’t wait to get this started!

Dwight and Rebecca

New Interview With 2 Guys 1 Review

2guys

Check out this great new interview with my buddy Ryan of 2 Guys 1 Review! I think it’s pretty informative, and Ryan always asks the interesting questions.

READ THE FULL INTERVIEW HERE

-Dwight

David Hartman Meets Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits!

ART OF MONSTERS – Check out this breathtaking process video of the creation of the cover art for Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits by über-talented artist and HP Comics Production Consultant, David Hartman!

And don’t forget to mark your calendars for the February 1st launch of Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits on Kickstarter!

***Be sure to watch this video in HD with sound!***

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2F1733975446925183%2Fvideos%2F1771338393188888%2F&show_text=1&width=560

-Dwight

The Story Behind Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits

kickstarter_twitter

I’ve always enjoyed reading the stories behind the stories that I love. Taking a look behind the curtain, if you will, to glimpse the process, struggles, and sacrifices that writers have made to create stories that have influenced and inspired me throughout my life. Reading The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, for instance, was nearly intoxicating. I was amazed, delighted, encouraged, moved to tears in some cases, and affirmed by the intimate details I read. The collection of the Professor’s letters still stands as a cherished work that I return to time and time again. And so, in the spirit of Tolkien’s letters and the many behind-the-scenes records that authors have left behind for us to enjoy, I have decided to share the story behind creating Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits. It’s nowhere near as grand, I know, but I hope you will find it enjoyable nonetheless.

Several years ago while I was writing The Surreal Adventures of Edgar Allan Poo Book 2 for Image, I was struck with what I believed was a fantastic story idea: a modern-time group of friends who find a magical silver dollar that had belonged to Harry Houdini. Together the ragtag friends would use the strength of their friendship, teamwork, problem solving, and the magic of the coin, to solve mysteries and help people. My head said I didn’t have the time to develop the idea due to a heavy college workload, the challenges of being a single dad of three little boys, and the pressure of writing a sequel to a successful book, but I did it anyway, because, hey, sometimes you have to make time when inspiration strikes.

After a couple of weeks I began my artist search. Now, for those who don’t know, artist searches are fun, but they can also be arduous and a bit depressing. If I had a dime for every artist who turned me down over the course of my career I’d have Alex Ross covers on all my books.

But that’s another story for another time.

After several days of searching I came across a charming webcomic by cartoonist Worth Gowell. I really liked his style and thought it would work perfectly for the story I’d fleshed out, so I sent an email and pitched the story to him. Honestly, he wasn’t thrilled with the story, so he suggested that a teenage Houdini would be the star, the story in the late 1880s, and his friends would be circus performers. My gut said no, No, NO. A period piece starring a beloved historical figure? I was already doing that in Edgar Allan Poo. And how would an audience respond to a cast of strange and unusual characters that were referred to as “freaks” in their time? I tried to reason with Worth, but, considering the fact that I believed he was the right artist for the book, I eventually conceded. Even so, I am still extremely proud of Kid Houdini and the Silver Dollar Misfits. Next to E.A. Poo, it is my favorite book I’ve created. I even intended to make a continuing series of adventures, but, sadly, that did not work out. In fact, I’m sad to say that the book went largely unnoticed. The lesson I took away from the experience was to stick to my guns when I felt strongly enough something.

So here we are. I am now a publisher, and I can tell the stories I want to tell, how I want to tell them. The beauty of the whole situation is that Kid Houdini and the Silver Dollar Misfits now serves as a prequel of sorts to Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits! I say “of sorts” because it is not necessary that one read the old book to “get” the new book, rather it serves as an introduction to the man (the myth, the legend) behind the silver dollar. That’s it. So one need not comb the internet to find the first book…unless one wants to. Hey, I am still extremely proud of Kid Houdini and believe it is a wonderful story that is well worth seeking out.

I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am about this project. Mathieu and I have worked extremely hard to bring you something that we believe is magical! We can’t wait to share it with our friends (yes, that means YOU)!

-Dwight

PS – Don’t forget to mark your calendars for February 1st when the project goes LIVE on Kickstarter!