Hocus Pocus Comics is in the House!

NYCCpic.jpg

Rebecca and I had a super busy week and the weekend was no walk in the park, either. But, hey, self-publishing is totally worth it. We have invested our blood, sweat, tears, time, money, and hearts into HP Comics, and I hope our love and dedication shines brightly in every story we tell.

Thank you for your continued support, friends. We couldn’t do this without our amazing patrons and readers!

-Dwight

I’m Bringing The 80’s Back!

bono_3
Photo Credit: Dwight L. MacPherson. All Rights Reserved.

We took some time off in the middle of a busy week to catch the U2 Joshua Tree show in Tampa on June 14th. Rebecca goes back a long way with these guys, from her time living in Dublin, Ireland, through her years of working in the music biz and hanging out with the band–which is another blog post in itself, one I have been trying to get her to write for ages!

The show was phenomenal in every way! I’ve always been told that U2 is a band you have to experience live, and they were right. This was my first time seeing the band I’ve loved since I first saw the video to “Sunday Bloody Sunday” on MTV when I was a teen, so it was really a special experience. Rebecca and I danced and sang along as the band played a grueling set that lasted more than 2 hours. We were in the pit, so we could see the sweat dripping from Bono’s hands. At one point Bono remarked that it was “Muy caliente!” And it was. Hot and humid and Bono was–well–classic Bono, dancing and gesticulating through the Joshua Tree set (and especially during the encore). We were spent after the show, so I’m sure the band was as well! We are now all much older. This isn’t the ’80s, after all!

This experience was made even more awesome because I’m working on a comic that takes place in the 80’s–a time Rebecca and I feel very nostalgic for as pop culture and music was so unique, fresh, and fun. I am having a blast writing the story and I’m sure you are really going to really dig it. Especially if you are a child of the 80’s.

I-Team_banner_me

Speaking of my ’80s superhero team, we are sharing our awesome artist’s, Emiliano Correa‘s, I-TEAM character designs exclusively with our patrons. So if you’d like to become an HP Comics insider, you can do that  RIGHT HERE! 

Dwight

 

Breaking News: I-Team Announcement!

I-Team_promo_lowres

 

COMING THIS FALL FROM HOCUS POCUS COMICS!

If you love classic X-Men and Teen Titans like I do, you will find this most excellent nostalgia blast just what the Professor ordered! (See what I did there?)

More news to come very soon, so be sure to stay tuned to this blog and hpcomics.net!

-Dwight

Not Just Another Poe Wednesday!

Happy Poe Wednesday, my friends! Two bits of Poe related news for you today:

oh_noes

1. There is a new page of Terra Somnium that has been posted for your reading pleasure. You can view it RIGHT HERE!

EAP002Comixology_cover
Cover by Mark Harmon

2. The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe #2 has been approved by ComiXology and will be available for purchase soonish (if you’ve dealt with them, you know what I mean)!

So there you have it. Hope your Poe Wednesday is magical!

-Dwight

 

Elevator #1 is ALIVE!

Elevator Promo Graphic KEY Comixology Kindle

I’m excited to announce that  Elevator #1 is NOW available on Kindle (http://ow.ly/iGPS30bp8zu ) &  ComiXology (http://ow.ly/bSS930bp2Sh )! Download your copy today, read, rate, and let your family and friends know about it! Classic horror for $1.99? You can’t beat that!

-Dwight

The Imaginary Voyages of Edgar Allan Poe #1 NOW AVAILABLE on ComiXology!

EAPComixology_issue_1_cover

PURCHASE YOUR COPY HERE! 

What a crazy journey! When I first began writing this book in 2006, I had no idea that it would become my magnum opus. I’d been a fan of Poe’s work since childhood, but there are several authors who have inspired and shaped my work over the years. So why Edgar Allan Poe?

When I first decided to write this book, it was sort of a gag. A reviewer had commented that one of my books had “too many poop jokes,” so my response was to create Edgar Allan Poo–complete with outhouse “birth.” What this story has become surprises no one more than it surprises me!

As I’ve already said, I grew up reading Poe’s stories and poems and watching Roger Corman’s film adaptations of his work, so Poe has definitely been a major influence on my work. No doubt about it. But it wasn’t until I began studying Poe’s life that I felt more than mere admiration for his work; I felt an unexplainable bond to Poe himself. A man of sorrow and loss, he would never taste the fruit of success; never enjoy the level of notoriety and renown that he so richly deserved. At first this merely moved me. But as I read his work again in light of the incredible sadness, loss, and marginalization he experienced in his lifetime, I developed a strong bond that goes far beyond respect and admiration. I felt as if we were kindred spirits; brothers from out of time, somehow linked by this madness called “writing.”

poe

The “Birth” of Terra Somnium 

The inspiration for the land of Terra Somnium comes from a lifelong love for the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Lewis Carroll, L. Frank Baum, and J.M. Barrie. But I would also have to thank Homer, Virgil, and Dante as well. When considering what one of the greatest literary minds would dream about in a time of crisis–I imagined–it would be more lofty and nuanced than what an average man would dream of. So what may Poe have dreamed of? Well, I thought, he would have certainly dreamed of death, his disappointments, and his own work, but he also loved mythology, nature, and classic literature.  And so, by combining all of these elements, Terra Somnium was born.  And it’s only blossomed and grown as I continue to view its breadth and depth in my mind’s eye. As you will see over the course of the series, it only becomes richer and more exotic, and, yes, more disturbing, as the epic journey continues.

ts_new_banner

And speaking of Terra Somnium, artist Louise Fitzpatrick and letterer Marco Della Verde and I have posted a BRAND NEW page for your viewing pleasure at Line Webtoon! Please do check it out:

READ IT HERE! 

An Epic Adventure

If you have joined us on this journey already, then you have my sincere gratitude. If you have not, I ask you to take a risk, purchase the book, and unite with us. Whether you love Poe’s work or just enjoy a good story, I’m certain you will enjoy the ride!

-Dwight

 

Elevator #1 Book Trailer

The book trailer for Elevator #1 is LIVE! Check it out!

We think our brand new Media Relations Managers, Tricia and Gordon Martin, have knocked it out of the park. What do you think?

TOMORROW is the release day for Elevator #1 on ComiXology! Stay tuned, though, as we’ll be informing you as soon as it is live and available for purchase.

-D

Elevator #1 Release Date and Solicit

elevatorcomixology_cover01

Coming to ComiXology March 16th…

Elevator #1
Written by Dwight L. MacPherson
Illustrated by Randy Valiente
Lettered by Marco Della Verde
Edited by Amy H. Sturgis

Elevator Canto I: Descent

Edward and Richard Bane return to their childhood home with friends Sam and Matt. They believe the visit will be therapeutic until they are met by Phillippe Iblis, a mysterious caretaker with diabolical intentions.

-D

The Time to Pledge is Now!

pledge

Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits is the brainchild of Harvey-nominated writer, Dwight L, MacPherson. An all-ages adventure mystery with a breakneck pace and many twists and turns, Houdini’s Silver Dollar Misfits is ultimately the story of friendship, danger, magic, and sacrifice in the tradition of Gravity Falls, Stranger Things, and Harry Potter.
The Kickstarter Campaign is now LIVE and runs through March 2nd: