Piccadily Weepers & Dundrearys

My husband is fascinated with beards. Not your everyday, run-of-the-mill-type beard, but those wildy overgrown Victorian beards. Whenever we watch something historical on the History Channel (which is rare because the History Channel is now full of reality shows like Axe Men) Dwight is always commenting on the beards. Throughout the show, he will exclaim, "I want one like that!" Then he will slowly stroke his beard with a look of longing. I begin to get antsy because I know where he is heading with this:

“I shall attempt to grow my beard that long!”

At one time, I was not a beard fan. Unless it was of the Santa Clause, or Charles Dickens variety.

Okay… beards have been around longer than the Bible, and it is interesting to see how they have changed throughout time. It is true that in the late 1860s to the 1890s, the majority of men had beards–and most of them hung low with enormous mutton chops. In fact, the title of this blog comes from two different types of beards, the latter being modeled after the character Lord Dundreary in Tom Taylor’s play Our American Cousin.

Whenever someone mentions Steampunk, I immediately think of a dashing fellow with a stovetop hat and long beard. There is something about a beard that makes a man look well-read. Unless, of course, you have the crazy curlycue ones that go to the knees, and then they look just plain mental!

Whether or not Dwight will ever obtain the beard he wishes, one can only hope.

And yes, I know this post has nothing whatsoever to do with comics or novels, but I thought I would take a break from blogging about work–because we are actually busy doing it.

From the Beard Coach:

BEARD
I decided it was time
For me to be a man.
So I went and threw my razor
In the garbage can.
If I didn’t cultivate it.
It would be a crime.
So I’m gonna grow my beard
Until the end of time.
All this hair upon my face
It grows there naturally.
Having me a long beard
Is the way I’m meant to be.
I don’t care if people say
I look like Z-Z Top.
Gonna keep on growin’
And I’m never gonna stop.
Don’t you know, I like the way
It billows in the breeze.
Just for fun I’m gonna let it
Grow down past me knees.
Gonna let it grow and grow
Until it hits the floor.
When that isn’t long enough
I’ll let it grow some more.

Have a great weekend,

Rebecca
P.S. New contest on Monday!

[I’m off to grow my Dundreary precipitately! Pip, pip! -Dwight]

Leave a Reply

