A Writer’s Wife


Contrary to what you might think from the image above, no, Dwight is not doing an adaptation of Alfred Hitchcock’s “The Birds.” That woman would be me on any given day–and the birds are all the many thoughts thrown at me from Dwight when he is in the writing zone.

Being the wife of a writer is not easy, but it has many rewards. Any artistic lifestyle is hard as paying work is usually feast or famine, but I think being the other half of a writing team is wonderful. We are both voracious readers, and I feel a writer should read to be inspired–so our conversations are wonderful dialogs of mutually-admired books. He opens new worlds to me by recommending books and vice versa.

One of the most stressful times I can remember since we have been married was the month that we were a contestant in the Zuda Comics webcomic contest. Our offering, Sidewise, was number one from the get go–but we had to keep it number one throughout an entire month. Having to get everyone we know onboard took a lot of time, effort, telephone calls, and late night email reminders. Hearing that we won the contest took a huge weight off our shoulders. I think I finally exhaled that day; I was so wound up by the whole ordeal.

I especially love it when Dwight first gets a new project. After the seemingly interminable amount of time having to wait to talk about it (contracts must be signed first!) he is all bright-eyed and feverish. Then comes the deluge of thoughts and ideas–usually when I am talking about something completely unrelated to the current project! I could literally be in the middle of sentence such as, “I think we might need more milk,” when Dwight comes back at me with, “What do you think if I get rid of the tower in that last scene?” My perplexed look goes unnoticed as he is already on to another idea for the next chapter.

It takes a lot of focus to keep up with him!

Me furiously attempting to write notes as Dwight spouts it out!

We just got wind of a new project which, of course, I wish I could talk about… but can’t. The feverish look is in his eye and the printer is burning the midnight oil. It is all a part of the process and I would not have my life any other way. Besides, being able to work at home, he gets to drag the boys around to their various appointments. And I know that I am being biased, but I truly believe that he is one of the best writers around today. His work will be remembered long after he is gone. Not that he is going away anytime soon, God willing!

I hope all of you have a wonderful and safe Memorial Day Weekend. Summer is almost here, so it is time to get your Summer reading lists together.

So… what will you be reading?

Cheers,
Rebecca

6 thoughts on “A Writer’s Wife

  1. My sister and I really liked Kid Houdini and the Silver Dollar Misfits and we would like it if you wrote a second book. Please write back.
    thank you,
    Juliet LaVigne

  2. Hi,
    Thank you so much for that compliment! We would love to do another Kid Houdini book–in fact I think it make a great young adults series. You should let Viper Comics know about it. The more people who ask might get them to do another one. Plus, Publishers love to hear from fans!
    Thanks again,
    Rebecca

  3. Thanks for sharing! My other half is a writer too and your picture said it all! Focus is probably one of many skills needed to be a writers wife!

  4. Hi Sharmila!
    You are so welcome and thanks for the comment. Sometimes I get a bit skewed with everything, but I try to keep it all in check! 😀

  5. Sadly my husband turned from an IT guy to a writer 5 years into our marriage. I did not see it coming. I was not even interested in reading. This created a huge gap between us and he ended up asking for a divorce. We had a beautiful loving 20years relationship before this. It all is very sad.

  6. I am sorry to hear about your situation, Chuma. Choosing a career in writing (or any artistic career choice) is not for everyone– both partners need to be on the same plate about this because at times it can be feast or famine.

Leave a Reply

