Thor Mini-Review-Thing

Anyone who knows me knows that I am no Marvel Zombie–or Ape. I am, however, a Thor fan. Have been since I picked up The Mighty Thor #337 at the local A&P.

I was immediately blown away by Walter Simonson’s art and unique storyline, and I continued to follow the book until Simonson left.

This brief encounter with Thor led me to study Norse mythology and collect information on the real god of thunder. In fact, I attribute much of my interest and fascination with mythology to Simonson’s Thor.

Nearly three decades later, I picked up the first issue of Thor Volume 3 on a whim. I was impressed by J. Michael Straczynski’s take on the Odinson, and followed the book until J.M.S’s departure. It was a wildly unique and captivating take on Thor and the Asgardians, and I loved it. I was sad to see this phenomenal writer leave the book, but I respect his reasons for stepping down. He’s one of the precious few working professionals who has had the–uhm–intestinal fortitude to say no to Marvel.

Low Expectations

My wife and I did not have high hopes for the film. We were unimpressed with Iron Man and skipped the sequel. The Marvel film we did enjoy–Edward Norton’s The Incredible Hulk–did not get a sequel, and Marvel parted ways with Norton in a less than professional manner.

So, yeah, we weren’t expecting to be blown away.

Anyway…

Thor rocked.

The storyline was simple but solid, the acting fantastic (especially Tom Hiddleston as Loki), and the imagery epic. I’ll never tell a Kenneth Branagh joke again (I can’t promise). His take on Thor and the gods, the frost giants, Asgard and Jötunheimr were spot-on.

If you’re looking for Citizen Kane, you’ll be extremely disappointed. But if you’re looking for a world-spanning, highly entertaining action-adventure film, Thor will not disappoint. Go see it. Twice.

One thought on “Thor Mini-Review-Thing

  1. I couldn’t agree more! I went in with the lowest of expectations and came out pleasantly surprised. Thor was no “Dark Knight”, but it was fun, and that’s all I was really hoping for. There’s a lot riding on these films to be successful for the Avengers gambit to pay off. So far so good. Happiness is never having to say your “Thor-ry”.

Leave a Reply

