Who Art Thou, Judge Dredd?

Over the weekend, Dwight introduced me to one of his favorite characters: Judge Dredd. Not being a capes and tights type of person, I would have passed this comic up in a heartbeat while walking through my local comic shop–especially after seeing the horrendous Stallone film.

However, my mind has been changed since Judge Dredd is anything but your typical super hero.

Right now I am reading about him fighting some really nasty beings called the Dark Judges: Judge Fire, Judge Fear, Judge Mortis and Judge Death.

Judge Dredd takes no prisioners and his matter-of-fact style of looking at life is kind of refreshing. The whole idea of a Deadworld and humans being guilty simply because they are alive is a frightening concept–and right in line with my taste in horror.

I am really digging it. Who knew?

[I did! – Dwight]

Okay, I have to admit that I am really looking forward to seeing Karl Urban as Dredd. He was brilliant as Dr. McCoy in Star Trek, so I can only imagine his take on this iconic character. And I hear he will not remove his helmet. Dwight said this is proof that Urban gets Judge Dredd since he is the embodiment of the law, and, as such, should never, ever be seen in anything but the complete raiment of a Judge.

So there you have it. Judge Dredd is everything my husband said he was.

I guess that makes me one of the newest Judge Dredd fans.

[Drokk, yeah! – Dwight]

Rebecca

[I’m plugging away on a synopsis for a novel proposal and continuing my worldbuilding project. It never stops, folks.
Oh, and it’s been my long-time dream to write Judge Dredd. Just want to put that out there.-Dwight]

One thought on “Who Art Thou, Judge Dredd?

  1. If I may, Dredd is as Callaghan as Callaghan is Dredd.

    There was a rumour in the 80s that Clint Eastwood would be playing Dredd, if Karl Urban can bring Clint to the role, then he’ll be doing very well.

Leave a Reply

