Your Daily Dose of Culture

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe said “A man should hear a little music, read a little poetry, and see a fine picture every day of his life, in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul.”

I concur.

So, to do my part, I decided to evade my Lovecraftian captor for a moment to post “a little music, a little poetry” and “a fine picture” so you get your daily dose.

By “a little poetry,” I mean a single poem, so it won’t take much of your time. I’m extremely busy today, so I haven’t time for a proper update. But I will soon. I know I keep saying that, but I mean it this time.

See the fine picture below? Paris at sunrise… sigh. And you will find a little music HERE.

Right, then. Read on. (See what I did there?)

Night’s Passing
©2010 Dwight L. MacPherson

The moon smiled
In a soft blue sky
The trees were gathered
To watch her die;
Golden streamers
A murder’s chorus
She slinks into a concrete forest
And the City of Lights winks, and sleeps.

Leave a Reply

