Smallville and SIDEWISE Commentary

Good Morning, Good Afternoon and Goodnight

No matter where you are in the world, I’ve got you covered.

Anyway, I wanted to write a blog combining the Smallville news and the newest SIDEWISE commentary page. SIDEWISE Page 25 was posted on our Zuda Comics page shortly after 10:30 AM EST.

Have you read it yet?

Okay… moving right along.

Liberty Movement on Smallville

Back in 2005, I was approached by my friend–and Dead Men Tell No Tales colorist–Michael DeVito about writing a 12-page story for his soon-to-be-published science-fiction anthology Space Doubles. Michael had decided to go into publishing for himself (WHAT WAS HE THINKING?!), and was putting together the staff to make it happen. He had already created a site and a name for the company: Th3rdworld Studios, and his Business Director, Scott Closter, had talked Michael into publishing a sci-fi flip-book with retro-styled stories and art.

Needless to say, I immediately agreed to write a story. I’m all about the retro sci-fi (in case you didn’t notice).

The result was an action-packed tale titled “The Liberty Movement” that took place in a world where the Nazis won World War 2 and subjugated the globe.

But I digress.

When Michael asked me to get a cover, my first choice was UK superstar artist Andie Tong. I was a big fan of Andie’s work on the CrossGen/MVCreations Masters of the Universe books, so I decided to contact him.

Andie is such a cool guy. He immediately agreed to illustrate a cover for the book.

Sadly, Space Doubles #4 never happened, and Andie’s cover never graced the racks of comic shops as it should have.

I’ll admit… I wasn’t happy about it.

Happily (there’s gotta be a happy ending, right?), it does appear–along with the “Liberty Movement” story–in the Space Doubles trade paperback, along with stories written by my friends Leah Moore and John Reppion, or, as I like to refer to them: “England’s Dynamic Duo of Comic Books,” the super-imaginative Mark Andrew Smith, and… well, I’m digressing again, aren’t I? Why don’t you check out the Space Doubles page for a listing of the many talented writers and artists who contributed to the book.

Here. Here is the stunning cover by Andie Tong…

Liberty Movement!

And here is a spoilerrific image from the February 12th episode of Smallville (Check it: Zatanna totally wants to buy my book)…


View Larger Image Here!

So be sure to watch Smallville on February 12th so you can see the cover and say “Hey, that was a cover for Dwight MacPherson’s Liberty Movement. And Land o’ Goshen, Andie Tong’s cover is finally getting its due! ROCK ON!”

I would encourage you to rock out on air guitar as you say this.

Do it for Andie.

SIDEWISE Commentary Page 25

The last time we saw young Master Graham, it appeared Doctor Tesla was frying his brain. We learn here, however, that Adam has been allowed to see all (?) of Tesla’s memories using the cerebral goggle device doohickey.

And he didn’t like what he saw. Not one bit.

This is an extremely important exchange because it calls Tesla’s character into question. Is he England’s future savior, or has he been party to the rise of the police state created by the Queen’s brain?

And is the revered Nikola Tesla actually a murderer?!

Read on, dear friends. All will be revealed.

Good day, Goodnight, Th-Th-Th-That’s All, Folks

I sincerely appreciate each and every one of you who has taken the time to read my long and rambling blog post.

But, hey… that’s what you’ve come to expect. Right?

7 thoughts on “Smallville and SIDEWISE Commentary

  1. Thanks, man! I don’t know how Michael did it, but I think it’s super cool.

    Oh, and thanks for reading and commenting. šŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Smallville’s Warrior Angel

Leave a Reply

