7 comments on “Sidewise Launch Date: 8 October 2009!

  1. I love a good rant, but I’d like to contest your ‘first all-ages Zuda winner title’, good sir! The gauntlet is at your feet…

    However, totally agree with you about the kid-friendly label. The kids who stopped and talked to me at Fan Expo were mainly 9 – 12. One girl was even reading Cerebus. They were pretty much all reading Amulet. Go figure. ;o)

    Everyone who told me about Tiny Titans was over 30. That I can’t explain. :o|

    Looking forward to launch date. What’s your update rate, mate?

  2. Hey! That’s my birthday… I expect you to kick it off big. I say yes and no to some of the points you have made. I love to see good all ages stuff. I also love Tiny Titans (I can explain it Canaan, but I won’t do it here) I think there are a couple good all ages strips on Zuda. Celadore is one, Night Owls another. I don’t consider either of them to be ‘kids comics’ but both are ‘kid friendly’ in that neither should merit or require an explicit content warning, and the humor and the action could be appreciated by anyone for the most part.

    Labeling something as being for kids, especially comics in my opinion, will often ensure that your audience will all be that over 30 crowd. It’s unfortunate. I think it is important to let parents know that a comic is suitable for all ages. There is no reason you have to go overboard telling the kids that 🙂 . I think good accessible comics that don’t cross certain lines are the sort that kids can pick up and love, and not feel like all they have access to is baby food.

    I am really looking forward to your official kickoff. I enjoyed the first 8, and am excited to see where it goes from there.

  3. HIGH MOON as the first ‘all-ages’ title to win the Zuda competition, for the record. I’m just saying.

  4. GEEK FIGHT!

    Okay… just kidding. Caanan, while I love Celadore, it is NOT all-ages due to inappropriate language (i.e. “damn,” “hell, etc), and some may find the nakedness of a certain character and blood inappropriate as well. Did you know that some elementary schools would not allow Flight in their classrooms because it contained the word “crap?”

    Absolutely. Young readers are SO much smarter than most publishers give them credit for. I mean, I think Tiny Titans is pretty cool, but I can’t get my kids to check it out. They want to read MY comics. And they do. 😀

    Rob: Excellent! Consider this my birthday present to ya. 😉

    I understand what you’re saying. Totally. I just have a problem with retailers, readers–whoever, thinking all-ages means “kids only.”

    David: I don’t think my 8-year-old’s ready for High Moon goodness just yet, my friend. But you can rest assured he’ll be reading it in the next couple years. 😀

  5. >> David: I don’t think my 8-year-old’s ready for High Moon goodness just yet, my friend. But you can rest assured he’ll be reading it in the next couple years. >>

    We keep it about as dark as the very first animated TRANSFORMERS movie. It’s all-ages, just not G-rated. It’s PG. [In that film they say sh*t, damn, and hell]. The good guys win. The monsters don’t. I mean, I consider the first Superman movie to be all-ages. But, it’s listed as PG. So, I guess it depends on your interpretation.

  6. Hey, me and my 13-year-old LOVE it. It’s just a bit too spooky for my 11 and 8-year-olds. It’s great stuff, though, man. I hope you know I mean that. 🙂

    I base my definition of all-ages on what I’ve been told by educators (i.e. college professors, elementary school teachers) and parents. If it has ONE curse word (or even the word “crap,” as I said earlier), it won’t be allowed in most elementary school classrooms. By academia’s standard, High Moon is not all-ages.

    But I still love you, man.

  7. Pingback: Talking Comics with Tim: Dwight L. MacPherson | Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources – Covering Comic Book News and Entertainment

Leave a Reply

