SIDEWISE Wins June Zuda Competition

WE DID IT! WE DID IT!

I would like to thank each and every one of you who voted for SIDEWISE and helped spread the word! As far as I’m concerned, this is a win shared by you as well, so congratulations for an amazing, tenacious job this month. It was incredible to watch the staggering number of views and know that many of you convinced your friends, family and acquaintances to vote for a comic strip they probably had no idea existed–and never would had you not shown them. I honestly cannot begin to tell you how much I appreciate your dedication, enthusiasm and pertinacity.

But I’ll try.

In The Beginning…

When I was first approached by Igor Noronha about submitting a comic to Zuda, I was writing American McGee’s Grimm for IDW and working on a couple other projects. Despite being incredibly busy, I readily agreed because I considered Igor to be a good friend and I’d been so outspoken about the future of comic books. It was time to put my money where my mouth was.

SteampunX–er, SIDEWISE

Committed to writing a submission for Zuda, I had no clue which idea in my magic box (okay… it’s an “In Development” folder in My Documents) would best suit Igor’s animated artistic style. Scrolling through hundreds of document icons, I opened a folder titled “SteampunX.” The document was little more than a page of ideas in bullet format and a short synopsis that I wrote the day after my 13-year-old asked me what Steampunk was, so I got to work developing and refining the document so I could share it with Igor.

Igor loved it and SIDEWISE was born.

Get to the Point, Already!

What started out as a commitment to one friend has culminated in a stunning commitment by many friends.

So to you, my friends, I say a heartfelt thank you. We got where we are because of you and, as such, are dedicated to creating a story that will be worthy of your support and commitment.

The best is yet to come!

8 thoughts on “SIDEWISE Wins June Zuda Competition

  1. Congratulations to both! Yeah! I am definitely glad to be a small part of it! Turns out I was missing on Zuda and this was a great way to discover it! Lots of great things happening there xD

  2. congratulations !!!!!!!!!!! can’t wait to read the rest of the story and preferably in a book format !!
    keep up the amazing work !!
    cheers 😀

Leave a Reply

