Have a Grimm Templesmith and Other Tidbits

Pardon Me

I’m currently knee-deep in research, so I thought I would post an update on one of my current projects and share a couple links that I believe all small press creators will find interesting.

If you were hoping to read a continuation of the Alternate Distribution series, I apologize for the delay.

It’s a Wrap

All five issues of IDW’s upcoming American McGee’s Grimm mini-series have been written and approved by IDW and American McGee.

In fact, Grimm issue 1 is available for pre-order in February’s Previews! The Diamond Order Code for the first issue is: FEB09 4315. Whether you are familiar with the game or not, you will bite a cyanide capsule or jump off a bridge if you miss this series!

God love Newsarama and Matt Brady–but it’s been more than a week since my new Grimm-licious interview was turned in and it has still not been posted. I’ll let you know as soon as the story butt-stomps its way to Newsarama’s page.

In the meantime, I will share this with you–my beloved reader–first: Behold the awesome glory that is the Ben Templesmith issue 1 variant cover…

Grimm #1 Templesmith Variant Cover

Each issue will feature a cover by series artist Grant Bond and a Templesmith variant cover, so please let your retailer know you’d like to have one of each!

“2009: The Worst Year For Publishing in Decades”

The title of this section comes from an article by Peter Olson posted on Publishers Weekly’s website earlier this month. I realize the story is not directly about comic books, but my point is that the entire world of printed media is facing a crisis. As such, I believe it is a grim portent of what is to come for our beloved medium.

Unless we change now, that is.

Safe Haven?

Newsarama has just posted an interview with Lance Stahlberg, Director of Haven Distribution. It’s a pretty in-depth interview, so do check it out. It appears Haven will be an excellent distribution option for small press publishers in association with other options.

Remember: having only one option is never good.

Are You Still Here?

That’s all I have time for today. As I said, I am speaking with several people and gathering more information in regards to alternate distribution options. I hope to post some of that information tomorrow.

Thank you for reading!

5 thoughts on “Have a Grimm Templesmith and Other Tidbits

  1. Nice Templesmith cover, Dwight!

    Good Peter Olson article link, too. This article and several others have been circulating among the fiction writers I know and lists I’m on thanks to publishing my science fiction novels. The book publishing industry is totally f’d right now. Comics are actually healthier, if only because the industry isn’t so heavily calcified and dominated by archaic dinosaurs as “traditional” publishing. Not that there aren’t problems πŸ˜‰ But trad pub is also in the throes of figuring out what the future looks like for distribution and marketing.

    Need to read more about Haven…

    Any thoughts about DrunkDuck.com? No compensation, I suppose, but then is Wowio paying anyone?

  2. Thanks, man! I LOVE Templesmith’s work, so I was really thrilled to find out he was doing a variant for each issue. πŸ™‚

    Well, I didn’t list DrunkDuck by name in the webcomics section, but by using Project Wonderful ads on your page, you will generate an income–though most likely a negligible amount. As well, DrunkDuck’s traffic is down 38% in the past 3 months.

    -D

  3. In the interest of keeping information updated, here’s what I heard from Wowio when I inquired about hosting Panthea Obscura there:

    “Hi Mike,

    Thank you so much for your email. I’m going to hold off on answering your questions only because we are not taking on any new publishers this quarter. I will hang onto your email and I’ll be in touch next quarter with more information on how we work and how to get involved.

    All best!

    Kristin”

    So… no new publishers for Wowio right now.

Leave a Reply

