Standing on the Curb

I don’t have a lot of time to blog today, but I thought I’d take a few moments to talk about comic books’ online exodus and–well–address a personal gripe.

Say what?

In the not-so-distant past, I was unfairly criticized by a gossip columnist for moving my books from a “front-of-previews Image Comics, to back-of-Previews Wowio-funded Chimaera Studios.” While making a completely false statement that Chimaera is funded by Wowio (Chimaera is a talent collective and all books are completely creator-owned), he also fails to recognize the shift to online content by other “front-of-previews” publishers.

To be fair, the columnist may not have been aware that DC unveiled Zuda, Marvel invested $10 million in digital media or that Slave Labor Graphics moved their single issues online.

The handwriting on the wall

I am not the first–nor will I be the last–to realize that the future of single issue comic books lies in the digital medium. I don’t have my own snazzy gossip column, but I am pretty darn street smart. I recognize the trend and have chosen to be pro-active. After all… as the market continues to shrink, publishers will print more licensed properties and less creator-owned books.

Break it on down

If you really want to get to the crux of my decision, as I pointed out earlier, creator-owned books are most likely to break even (i.e. NO PROFITS FOR THE CREATIVE TEAM). And if chances are high that my book is going to break even, why not take a risk to position it for maximum saturation? INTERAGENTS #1, for instance, has had over 20,000 readers. Can a “front-of-previews” publisher give me that volume of readership? Not likely.

Me FTW

So there you have it. Yes, I left a “front-of-previews” publisher to join Chimaera Studios. As long as I have a PDF to send my agent and manager, they don’t care who publishes my books. And, best of all, I don’t have to give away movie deal (or any other medium) money or ownership to a publisher. My agent and manager get their well-deserved commissions and I divide the rest amongst my fabulous (and extremely patient) artistic teams.

The Fine Print

I would be remiss to say there aren’t certain publishers I would love to work with. I’m working with one of them now on a secret project. Work-for-hire is a blast, especially when you love the publisher and staff.

Peace Out

All right… I need to get back to work. Tomorrow I’ll hopefully be able to give you an update on the secret project, show you some new INTERAGENTS art and rant about whatever else comes to mind.

2 thoughts on “Standing on the Curb

  1. Okay, I’d be lying if I said this post didn’t make me laugh (in a good way!). Both in structure and tone. Bravo, sir.

    You know, I’m sure everything can be cleared up with a simple email. Rich, in my experience, is a pretty nice guy usually.

    As for your comments on the possible future of the industry, I couldn’t agree more. Digital is it. I’m sure floppies will still be around, but not nearly as much.

    Also Previews (and god love the people who put it together) isn’t read by the average comic reader, at least as far as I know, from asking around etc. Though many people do check out the online listings.

  2. Thank you for commenting, my friend! I honestly expected folks to remain silent. I think every aspiring creator walks around scared the “Excelsior hammer” will fall on them if they say anything negative about the industry.

    Yes, floppies will still be around, but they will be used primarily as adverts for graphic novels. I honestly think that’s what will end up happening.

    Yeah, Previews is a waste. My shop owner says he orders 5 copies because he has 5 people who buy it each month… OUT OF OVER 2000 CUSTOMERS. So yeah, having your book in Previews does not a sale guarantee.

    Thanks again for reading and commenting, my friend. Much appreciated.

    -D

Leave a Reply

