They Don’t Make ‘Em Like They Used To!

Isn’t it funny to go back and look at the things you found so amazing when you were a child and realize how incredibly bad they are? Don’t get me wrong, I still love them for the nostalgia factor alone. Watching these great old shows brings back good childhood memories, and that’s never a bad thing!

One example that comes to mind is Johnny Sokko and His Flying Robot. As a kid, I absolutely loved the movies! In fact, I remember talking into my watch like Johnny Sokko–ordering Giant Robot to do my bidding. If I wasn’t reading, writing or watching these classic old shows, I was pretending to be Johnny Sokko or Hayata from Ultraman.

They just don’t make good shows like these anymore. I’ve tried to find something like it for the kids, but Power Rangers is about as close as you can get now. While my kids do enjoy the old P.R. episodes, they just can’t get into the new stuff.

Ah, well… the old stuff is always better. Right?

2 thoughts on “They Don’t Make ‘Em Like They Used To!

  1. Thank for the post, I enjoy seeing what makes other people nostalgic. i wonder what kids these days will be nostalgic about in the future. This was a big part of my chilkdhood:

    You’ll probably think it’s only a Power Ranger-like generic. Of course I don’t 😉

  2. Nothing generic about childhood favorites, my friend. Look at my faves. They’re not exactly cutting edge. 😛

    Anyway, thank you for reading and commenting, my friend. I appreciate ya.

    -D

Leave a Reply

