A Big, Fat Update

I apologize for my long absence. It’s been a hectic couple months, but I assure you that I’ve used my time wisely creating quite a bit of comic goodness. I’ll have a lot of news in the coming months. I promise.

Firstly, I’m still getting e-mails and PMs asking why I left Shadowline, so I have decided to answer the question once and for all with an official statement. So here goes:

“After much deliberation and counsel, I felt it was in the best interest of my creative teams to leave Shadowline and seek to publish my books where they would have maximum exposure and the greatest possibility of financial prosperity. After making three successful books at Shadowline, the creative teams and I have yet to see a penny for our efforts. After being told I would see profits for ‘The Surreal Adventures of Edgar Allan Poo Book 1’ within ‘one year of publication,’ I was later told it would be ‘two years.’ This was not acceptable to my creative teams, so, with their approval, I decided to part ways with Shadowline. Despite what has been stated by outsiders, having your book in the front of Previews and making ‘the sacred Top 300 list’ does NOT translate to actual profits. Any suggestion that they do is naivete–or just plain ignorance. I enjoyed my time working with Shadowline, Jim Valentino and Kris Simon and wish them the best in their future endeavors.”

Secondly, as you are aware, the first issue of INTERAGENTS is now available to view online absolutely free–or to be downloaded for a fee of .99 cents. I’m happy to report that we have finished the Director’s Cut of issue 1 and it will be available on Wowio very soon. I will update my blog, Myspace, Facebook, et al with links as soon as it goes live. I am also happy to say that issue 2 is almost complete and should be available for view/download in early October.

In the meantime, here’s the beautiful cover by Ben Morse…

Thirdly, Chimaera Comics is about to make single issues of their books available for order in their online shop. In the meantime, please check out the cool Interagents t-shirts that are currently available!

And finally, I wish to apologize again for my long absence and promise to redouble my efforts to update the blog daily. Thank you for your patience and support, my friends. I will talk to you soon.

4 thoughts on “A Big, Fat Update

  1. Please correct me if I’m wrong here, but isn’t the Shadowline deal the SAME as the Image deal? They publish your book, take a flat fee for their costs, but leave it up to you to market and push them, and then you can take whatever profits are made by them, no?

  2. Yes, it’s the same as the Image deal. Unfortunately, I can’t get into the specifics of the contract, but if all you had to pay was printing cost, it would be a fantastic deal. But that’s not the way it is.

    My friend, you would be shocked how many Image books don’t break even.

    -D

  3. Suddenly Kirkman’s call to arms is kinda looking like a fool’s goal. I guess that is his problem with Marvel and not with anyone else particularly.

  4. Not necessarily. Kirkman’s call-to-arms was specifically leveled at established “big name” Marvel creators. In other words, creators with an established fan base.

    -D

Leave a Reply

