Ch-ch-ch-changes

The powers that be have decided the brilliant cover illustrated by Jack Lawrence (of “Lions, Tigers and Bears” fame) will be the cover to Viper Comics’ Free Comic Book Day book. Jack’s a busy, busy chap, so I’d like to publicly say thank you, Jack, for taking time out to hook a brother up. I owe you one–er–okay, more than one. Cheers, bro!

And you, my friends… you are the first to see it!


Viper Comics and I have decided to discontinue the Kid Houdini webcomic on The Chemistry Set. I must admit: I’m not real happy about it. But I understand the reasoning and promise you won’t have to wait long to get your next Kid Houdini fix. May is just around the corner and the graphic novel will be released in JUNE! YES… JUNE! You heard it here first, my loyal legion! That means the graphic novel will appear in the next issue of Previews! Can you believe it?! Sorry, but I am so excited about this book. I honestly think it’s one of the best things I’ve done to date. My 12 year-old and 9 year-old are just enthralled with it. Chris Eliopoulos (of Marvel’s “Franklin Richards” fame) had this to say about the book:

“Kid Houdini is a fun all-ages read. How do I know? The enjoyment I got out of it was exceeded only by the enjoyment my two 8-year-olds got. They spent the day after reading it, repeating the name ‘Hans’ over and over and laughing to themselves. A delight!”

Please, my friends… let your shops know about the Free Comic Book Day book and ask them to order it. I cannot stress this point strongly enough. It is imperative that you let them know you want it. Retailers are going to order a shit ton of Marvel’s and DC’s Free Comic Book Day books, but they will not order a book they don’t believe there’s a demand for. That’s where you come in. Please… let your retailer know you want it–and that you believe it will appeal to a lot of people. Honestly, I believe it will. So please–let ’em know for your ol’ Uncle Dwighthulhu.

Well, that’s it for now. I promise to post the properly dressed cover as soon as Viper Comics sends it to me–which should be Tuesday. See you then!

Leave a Reply

