Kid Houdini: Complete

I am happy to say I finished the script of the final chapter of Kid Houdini and the Silver Dollar Misfits Volume 1 last night. I honestly can’t tell you how proud I am of this story. In my opinion, kids need more stories like this. Gone are the days of The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew mysteries that really challenged young readers. I honestly don’t believe any form of literature encourages critical thinking and inquisitiveness more than well-written, well-constructed mysteries. I’ll never forget reading my Hardy Boys books and running through the clues and possibilities in my fevered little head–trying to solve the mystery before the big reveal. Sometimes I succeeded… and sometimes I didn’t. But the important part was that I was thinking, reasoning, trying to piece together clues and trying to read between the lines to glean as much information as I could.

Kids don’t have anything like this today–and it’s sad. I think that’s why kids have turned to videogames, the internet, cable TV, manga and fantasy books. Not that there’s anything wrong with any of these things, but come on… reading for enjoyment–at least in the children I’ve been able to directly observe–is not even a consideration. Unless, of course, it’s manga they’re reading; manga based on an anime show they watch on television. It bothers me. It really does.

Alas, I have ranted more than enough, so I will close for now. Before I go, I will leave you with this advance look at a page from the upcoming graphic novel. Please, please be sure to ask your retailer to order copies of the Viper Comics Free Comic Book Day book! If you don’t ask, chances are they won’t get it; you won’t get it. After all, we all know small press comics are the redheaded stepchildren of the comic book industry.

So here’s that special sneak preview just for you…

4 thoughts on “Kid Houdini: Complete

  1. Coolness, man! Both my girls will like it I’m sure. They love that mystery stuff as much as you and I do. I’ll be sure to have my store get some copies.

  2. Thanks, Josh! Lydia… the female character in the group is a strong, intelligent girl, so I’m sure they’ll really like her. 🙂
    Thanks for your support, my friend!

    -D

  3. Dude, I hear ya on the reading thing. I’ve always loved to read and still try and read novels every day/night, when I’m not reading my comics and graphic novels. Most everyone else I know that’s my age is like, “Books? What are those? You mean those things with the pictures in school?” And they’re joking, but I don’t find it funny. Books are an important part of an imaginative mind. With TV, no one has to imagine anymore. That’s why I hate syndicated TV shows. The only show I watch is Heroes, and I have problems remembering to watch that, cause I’m usually reading. Anyway, can’t wait to get my hands on Houdini. Just finished Poo Vol. 1 and wanted to let you know how great it was too!

  4. Thanks, Daniel! I appreciate you purchasing E.A. Poo and I’m glad you enjoyed it!
    I definitely think there’s a lot of room for books that challenge young readers. Hold onto your ideas. I have a folder full of stuff that I’m finally able to develop due to the success of the other books I’ve done. So do not abandon hope, my friend!

    -D

Leave a Reply

