Four Covers for Kid Houdini?!

I am pleased–and a bit surprised–to say that we have now received four covers for Kid Houdini and the Silver Dollar Misfits! Granted, one will be used for Viper Comics’ Free Comic Book Day offering, but that still leaves three covers.

In all fairness, two of the artists weren’t certain they would have time in their schedules for illustrating covers. Well… when I was told this, I made other arrangements. And now, here I am with four sensational covers trying to decide what to do with all of ’em. A great problem to have–is it not?

Here’s who I’ve received covers from:

Chris Eliopoulos (artist of Marvel’s Franklin Richards)
Jack Lawrence (artist of Image’s Lions, Tigers and Bears)
Grant Bond (artist of Shadowline’s Archibald Saves Christmas)
Thomas Boatwright (artist of Shadowline’s The Surreal Adventures of Edgar Allan Poo)

I’ve talked to my publisher and they’re working on a plan to utilize all four, so that is totally cool. I’ll be sure to let you know how this wonderful problem is resolved.

Anyway, I’m going to use this space to talk about things I wouldn’t post anywhere else. Thoughts about the comic industry, my work, personal musings… you name it. I may end up regretting it, but I think this could be fun.

Back to work I go.

6 thoughts on “Four Covers for Kid Houdini?!

  1. Pleased I am, Dwight, to be the first comment-leaver on your Top Secret blog!

    Elton

  2. Dude, through Cemetery Blues, I have become a huge fan of Boatwright, and since he did the first book, I think it would only be fitting to use his cover for the second. Just my opinion. The other guys covers could be Variant covers (or limited editions). Just a thought.

  3. Daniel, Viper is actually going to use Thomas’ cover for the Free Comic Book Day book. How cool is that?!

    And I believe we WILL use the others as variants. I hate to do that, but I would hate more not to use them–you know?

    -D

  4. I hear ya. Variants are a pain. But, like you said, it would be a shame not to use them.

    Also, I thought Eliopoulos was a letterer? From a long time ago? I didn’t know he was an artist as well. Or is that a different Eliopoulos?

  5. Nope… same Eliopoulos. He also does the “Franklin Richards” books for Marvel. The guy’s one multi-talented bastage! His newest book is the latest issue of “Spider-Man Family” with Frog Thor. It’s hilarious–my kids loved it.

    -D

Leave a Reply

